[ARCHIVE] Road to Live Release

Discussion in 'Development News' started by RHY3756547, Aug 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RHY3756547

    RHY3756547 FreeSO Developer Staff Member Moderator

    Eventually. Once everything is merged we can look into purging the legacy projects. (including GonzoNet when simulator networking is moved to Electron)
    zc456 likes this.
  2. SoraTSO

    SoraTSO Active Member

    Wow impressive work! :D It looks amazing how much is happening lol :p
  3. nicefunfungirl

    nicefunfungirl Active Member

    This. I'm crying right now. I've never been so happy crying before.
    Clonest likes this.
  4. miceiken

    miceiken New Member

    Wow, crazy good work guys!
  5. AnthraxWarhead

    AnthraxWarhead New Member

    GOODNESS ME!!!!

    Keep up the good work guys,You're almost there .
  6. -BloodFighter-

    -BloodFighter- Active Member

    Looks awesome!! Cant wait to be able to try the build shown on the screen out.
  7. RainCloud

    RainCloud Active Member

    So much done in so little time ... you guys are "Totally Awesome!" as far as I'm concerned. Can't wait to see what's next :D
    xXJDrocks450Xx likes this.
  8. RHY3756547

    RHY3756547 FreeSO Developer Staff Member Moderator

    [​IMG]
    BGR <-> RGB colour flipped, but working sorta. Need to spoof inputs and look at improving performance.
  9. xXJDrocks450Xx

    xXJDrocks450Xx Well-Known Member

    Impressive progress this project has made since my disappearance. :p Excited to be back!
    Clonest likes this.
  10. pisarz1958

    pisarz1958 Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    That low memory warning in the background though. :D
  11. RHY3756547

    RHY3756547 FreeSO Developer Staff Member Moderator

    There doesn't appear to be one... The two things closest are "Enable!" (yellow warning triangle) and the windows 10 notification center telling me that I have 1000 new emails.
  12. ddfczm

    ddfczm Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    Loving the IDE, looks great. Its going to be amazing to have a fully fledged simantics editor for TS1 and will be great to keep extending TSO with new objects, maybe much better custom content tools than EA land had.

    Although TS1 will be harder since we can't make that game breakpoint like we could TSO. Well, maybe Andrew can heh
    RHY3756547, Tirea and LetsRaceBwoi like this.
  13. pisarz1958

    pisarz1958 Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    Nevermind, Windows uses exactly the same (or XP one, it looks old anyway) yellow warning triangle for low-memory warnings.
  14. LetsRaceBwoi

    LetsRaceBwoi Well-Known Member

    if you delete your pagefile and open chrome, as well as crysis 3, you'll find out
  15. RHY3756547

    RHY3756547 FreeSO Developer Staff Member Moderator

    Just chrome, no tabs? I think that + crysis 3 would work on 4GB RAM, let alone anything anyone has today.
  16. LetsRaceBwoi

    LetsRaceBwoi Well-Known Member

    then my system has some serious issues, because even with about 20-30 tabs (+C3) open i get low memory issues
  17. RHY3756547

    RHY3756547 FreeSO Developer Staff Member Moderator

    Windows forms integration is working correctly now, with redraw only when necessary. Going to push when I remove some of the unrelated changes. The approach I went for is allowing the game UI to export functionality (via UIExternalContainers) to be used in an abstract Winforms "FSOUIControl" which simply recieves images from the game directly from its render target. Couldn't figure out how to transfer the active context to another window, so despite this being less performant it'll do for now. This should also allow for more interesting uses of the graphic device, such as DGRP rendering using FSO.LotView.

    [​IMG]

    Next up will be live step thru and primitive operand modification. Need to do some planning out for how the surrounding UI will look.

    It's primarily going to be for TSO since it's plugging directly into the game's active content system, but whenever I start porting the FreeSO engine to work with TS1 content it should work with both.

    I think having the editor is going to be a lot of fun to have around, not only can we make new objects, but we could also patch existing ones. (imagine adding sit functions on chairs for pets, adding fire back in, etc.) We're also gonna have some stuff that wasn't quite available in Codex and pals, like SLOT editing.
    pisarz1958, Tirea and zc456 like this.
  18. zc456

    zc456 Well-Known Member

    My imagination is going wild. So I'm assuming when it's done (or close to), FSO.IDE.exe will load into it's own offline lot instance for editing?
    nicefunfungirl likes this.
  19. RHY3756547

    RHY3756547 FreeSO Developer Staff Member Moderator

    Offline lot instances will always be available in FreeSO for object development. It should also be invokable from online sessions for debug purposes, but it should disconnect you from the simulator (you'd just get desynced anyways, other players would not be affected). Part of the plan is to have a standalone version too, but as things are now it'd need a stub Game instance to piggyback off of to get Monogame rendering.
  20. RHY3756547

    RHY3756547 FreeSO Developer Staff Member Moderator

    [​IMG]
    Early primitive selection UI. Need to work out a system so the operand editors can be built using discrete components, then we should be good to go for editing.
    heat33330, pisarz1958 and zc456 like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page