Simming Online

Discussion in 'Play-Tests' started by RHY3756547, Oct 8, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RHY3756547

RHY3756547 FreeSO Developer Staff Member Moderator

Remember that servers still take a time proportional to the uptime to connect to since state serialization is not a thing yet. This should change quite soon though.
    zc456 likes this.
  2. zc456

zc456 Well-Known Member

I'll keep that in mind.
    As always, I look forward.
  3. LetsRaceBwoi

LetsRaceBwoi Well-Known Member

Will edit my server list entry accordingly :)
    zc456 likes this.
  4. zc456

zc456 Well-Known Member

Awesome, thanks.
  5. LetsRaceBwoi

Edited with all information and a link back here. Awesome work on the website, too, by the way.
    zc456 likes this.
  6. zc456

zc456 Well-Known Member

Thanks. Been be a webmaster for a long time.
  7. LetsRaceBwoi

Nice. Must be pretty fun. I've been a webmaster, like, once, and that was it.
  8. zc456

zc456 Well-Known Member

It depends. Before I got my Raspberry Pi, I was pretty much limited to the hosts' terms of service wasn't always good since I relied on free hosts for such a long time. My past experience with Ubuntu Server on VBox and old laptops also gave me server admin experience and pretty much gives me confidence that I can guarantee Simming Online will happen. Overall, now that I call the moves with my Pi, it's a lot more fun.
  9. LetsRaceBwoi

I've actually done more hosting than I thought, but it wasn't really public - I've played with Apache a lot, especially back when I made TSS and Zapp'd.
    Also, is the RPi a very good host? I was thinking about using it for the server list.
  10. zc456

zc456 Well-Known Member

Yeah. The Pi 2 has a decent amount specs that make it entry level worthy. I'll admit, an private server for an MMO for this kinda hardware is a bit of a gamble.
  11. LetsRaceBwoi